U Turn – Slick Entertaining Thriller

Looks like the Kannada movie bug has bit me hard.  The month of June saw me see Thithi and U Turn on two consecutive weekends.  Thithi was in the Maayajaal multiplex in Chennai while U Turn was in the PVR Orion multiplex in Bangalore.

The screenplay of this movie is very good, besides the acting and cinematography.  It was a thorough entertainer.

The introduction of the supernatural element was a dud though (atleast I didn’t expect a thriller genre to be mixed with a supernatural genre).  But I hear that its the current trend to experiment with both genres in the same movie.

When I saw the Malayalam movie “Memories ” – it was an outright thriller – but U Turn is a supernatural thriller.  On the genre count – I found Memories better.

But on all other counts – both the movies (U Turn and Memories) were equally good and well taken.  I enjoyed it a lot.

Besides it very good to see new talent getting a forum to be recognized.  Almost all actors (except the Rangitaranga actress) are new here.  A few a soap actors (the cops) also share screen presence.

Overall I would rate it at 4.5 stars.

Next on my list are “Godhi Banna Saadharana Mai Kattu” and “Karva”.  This would complete my list.

It is such a pleasure to see movies with a fresh storyline – away from the romance, songs, dances and fights.

ನಿಮ್ಮದೊಂದು ಉತ್ತರ

