Chennai Walk – Part III

Well I had always wanted to visit Fort St.George ………….the secretariat in Chennai.  Unlike the Vidhana Soudha ……….this place is not that grand – but has awful lot of history.  The St.Marys Church …although not that grand ……..offers some interesting picture spots.  Then you have the Fort Museum – which has many interesting curios.  Of all of them ……..what impressed me most was two artillery shells which were fired during World War I and II.  I had always known that Chennai was bombed directly by the Japanese one day during World War II.  However I discovered that it was bombed by the Germans as well during World War I …….and quite directly. 

The other interesting thing is the replica of Ranadheera Kanteerava ………with folded hands ….praying to Lord Narasimha ……inside the Srirangapatna temple.  Pretty interesting.  Fort St.George is a pretty uncrowded place as there is selective entrance there.  It makes for peaceful viewing.  Those interested in History ……..the Fort is a must see along with its museum. 

Pretty close to the fort is the Victory Memorial ……….which is an interesting place to stop by and take pictures.  The hilarious thing is that the Indo-China war of 1962 has also been mentioned here ………which India actually lost (forgive me for my unpatriotic curtness ……..but that is the truth.  But the beauty is that I live in India and am proud that I can blog about India’s military debacle.  If I had been in China ……… I would have been send to the Chinese gulag ….possibly for life …….for having written about a Chinese military debacle). 

Blogged with the Flock Browser
ನಿಮ್ಮದೊಂದು ಉತ್ತರ

